Get Involved: Participate, become a Member or Renew your Membership.

Board Members.

Ruth Annis, Doug Boyd, Suzanne Dubé, Dianne Flood, Paul Gandall, Nicholas Harrington, Sandra Severs, Ian Sutherland, Matthew Yee

President: Paul Gandall
Vice President: Nicholas Harrington
Treasurer: Doug Boyd
Secretary: Sandra Severs

Committee Chairs
Land Use: Ian Sutherland
Urban Ecology: Nicholas Harrington
Urban Livability: Sandra Severs
Governance: Dianne Flood
Communications/Membership: Doug Boyd/Dianne Flood
Community Engagement: Suzanne Dubé

Liaison to External Entities
VCAN: Paul Gandall, Ian Sutherland
900 Pandora Block: Sandra Severs

City Council Liaison
Charlayne Thornton-Joe

City Community development Coordinator
Michael Hill

Board Member Profiles

Ruth Annis
Ruth is past-President of the ARIA Strata Council, and chairs the Humboldt Valley Committee, an ad hoc collaborative network of Humboldt Valley condominiums. Prior to retirement, Ruth was Executive Director of a large multi-service agency serving the Vancouver to Chilliwack area. She has served on many boards in senior positions including First Call – BC Child and Youth Advocacy Coalition (co-founder); BC Alliance for Mental Health and Addictions (co-founder); Child Welfare League of Canada; BC Public Sector Employers Council; etc. She is the recipient of a number of recognition awards both provincially and nationally. Ruth has lived in downtown Victoria since 2008. She is committed to sustainable community development and social justice issues. Ruth was re-elected to the DRA Board in 2019 and has been a member of various DRA committees.

Doug Boyd
Doug was one of the owners of Vision Travel, a travel agency with locations across Canada, for over 30 years. His primary role in recent years was in technology. Doug retired from that company in 2016. Doug moved to Victoria from Calgary in 2011. In Calgary, he was actively involved in two neighbourhood associations and was a Board member of the Kensington Business Association for several years. Doug is very passionate about advancing sustainability and active transportation in Victoria. He loves the city and also is an avid walker. Doug has been a member of the Victoria DRA and the DRA Community Development Committee since 2013. Doug was elected as a Board member and as Treasurer in 2014.

Suzanne Dubé
Suzanne Dubé has lived and worked in Victoria for over 30 years and has been actively engaged in organizations that help to make Victoria a great place to live.  As a professional fundraiser for 23 years, she led development teams at large and small local charities to raise funds for social services, education, arts and culture programs to make our city more socially just and vibrant.  She was Director of Development at UVIC, Royal Roads University, Pacific Opera Victoria, Victoria Women’s Transition House, Pearson College and Our Place Society.  Suzanne recently made a career change to become a financial advisor with Edward Jones.  Her passion for helping people is still expressed through this new professional endeavour.  As a financial advisor and coach, Suzanne works with people of all ages and walks of life to help them achieve their financial goals.  Suzanne is currently building her clientele and plans to open her new Edward Jones office in the Harris Green neighbourhood.  Suzanne joined the Victoria Downtown Residents Association because she wants to contribute to the quality of life for residents who live and work in downtown Victoria.

Dianne Flood
Dianne is a retired lawyer who formerly advised the Manitoba government on local government legislation, land use planning, and property assessment matters. She was a vice-chair of the Manitoba Municipal Board, the chair of the BC Property Assessment Appeal Board, an Assistant Deputy Minister (Manitoba Municipal Affairs), and the Executive Director of BC’s Administrative Justice Office. Dianne has lived in Harris Green since 2004 and is especially interested in efforts to enhance the green space in the Downtown and Harris Green neighbourhood. Dianne joined the DRA and the Board in 2018. Dianne is a member of the Land Use Committee.

Paul Gandall
Paul currently works as a lawyer in Victoria and is a graduate of Queen’s law school. He was born in Ottawa and relocated to the west coast in the summer of 2016. He has a strong desire to promote positive social change, community and livability in any place he calls home. He also enjoys camping, hiking, and other outdoor activities in BC’s spectacular natural environment, one of the incentives which drew him to the west coast. He joined the DRA Board in 2017, and was elected as its President in 2018.

Nicholas Harrington
Nicholas is a certified engineering technician (CTech) in the field of Fluid Power, Automation and Robotics. For the majority of his career, he provided technical customer service and applications engineering services to the pneumatic automation component, and later, hydraulic and pneumatic valve actuation industries. Nicholas is currently a sales representative at a local tool retailer. Nicholas and his wife relocated to downtown Victoria in 2012. Some of his interests are technology, machinery, programming, writing, politics, cars and motorcycles. Nicholas is currently the Vice President of the DRA, a past President, and the chair of the Urban Livability Committee.

Sandra Severs
Sandra Severs is a senior management professional with over twenty years experience working in diverse not-for-profit organizations.  Most recently she served as the Executive Director of the Canadian Mental Health Association’s North and West Vancouver branch where she led the development of the HOpe Cafe, a unique collaboration between CMHA, Vancouver Coastal Health Authority and BLENZ Coffee Company creating employment opportunities for those living with serious mental health challenges. With a background in environment ethics (M.A. University of Calgary) and trained as a United Church minister (M.Div, University of Toronto), Sandra is interested in the development of inclusive communities in the urban core of cities.  She has five years experience in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside working with municipal and provincial governments on the challenges facing low-income residents. Sandra has been a resident of the Hudson District since 2017 and is currently focused on a long-outstanding writing project. 

Ian Sutherland
Ian has worked in the development industry as a Planning and Civil Engineering consultant for over 35 years, as well as a design/builder and developer specializing in custom homes and rehabilitation of designated heritage buildings. Ian has served on the Board of the Victoria Civic Heritage Trust and has received the Presidents award from the Hallmark Society and the BC Heritage Award for past projects. Victoria born and raised, Ian has enjoyed living Downtown for over 20 years. Ian enjoys travelling around the world seeking and studying famous and inspirational architecture. Ian joined the DRA Board and has acted as Chair of the Land Use Committee since 2011.

Matthew Yee
Mathew Yee has lived within the downtown neighbourhood since 2011 and worked in downtown Victoria for over 16 years. He is currently an IT Analyst, working on a team supporting the Ministry of Education’s student information system. An active volunteer with multiple organizations, he often participates in activities promoting collaboration and building an inclusive community.